Department of Economics

Year 1946: Nankai University was reopened with Yuan Xianneng as Acting Dean for the Department.
Year 1959 – Year 1951: Long Yin became acting Dean and then Bao Juemin became Dean of the Department
Year 1951 – Year 1966: Ji Taoda was appointed as Dean and introduced Marxist Economics into Nankai University.
Year 1952: The school-level institutions were cancelled and the School of Economics was not reestablished until 30 years later.
Year 1954: Among all the economic management disciplines of Nankai, only Department of Economics remained.
Year 1961: Economic Research Institute came back to Nankai University and Ji Taoda, Dean of Department of Economics, was appointed as Director of the Institute.
Year 1962: Philosophy was separated from Department of Economics and stood as the independent Philosophy Department.
Year 1975: World Economics was established as a major.
Year 1972 – Year 1984: Wei Xun was appointed as Dean and promoted the prosperous development of the Economics discipline.
Year 1978: Undergraduates of Class 1977 and Class 1978 were enrolled successively in spring and fall. Undergraduates of Class 1977 created the journal of Economics Beginner.
Economic Research Institute was separated from Department of Economics and became an independent research institution with Teng Weizao and Gu Shutang as its Director successively.
Year 1979: Ministry of Education approved the establishment of Modern Capitalism Economy Research Office and Soviet Union and Eastern Europe Economy Research Office.
Li Jingneng advocated the establishment of Population Theory Research Office, which then became independent as Population Research Institute in 1984.
Year 1980: Establishment of Corporate Management as a major was proposed before the Department of Management was set up with Chen Bingfu as Dean.
Year 1981-Year 1982: He Ziqiang and Qian Rongkun advocated the establishment of Tourism Department and the reestablishment Finance Department respectively.
Year 1983: World Economics was changed into International Economics, which then became independent as the Department of International Economics in 1985 with Xue Jingxiao as its Dean.
Jia Xiuyan advocated the establishment of Price Theory as a major, which was terminated in 1993.
The School of Economics started its rebuilding.
Year 1984: Liu Maoshan advocated the establishment of Insurance as a major, which then became an independent department called the Department of Risk Management and Insurance in 1996.
Year 1984 – Year 1993: Cai Xiaozhen was appointed as Dean, who created Urban Economics for Nankai University.
Year 1986: Bao Juemin and Li Hongshuo established Taiwan Economy Research Institute.
Year 1994: The Real Estate Operation and Management was established as a major.
Year 1994 – Year 1997: Hao Shouyi was appointed as Dean.
Year 1995: Marketing was established as a major, which then was merged into Business School with Han Changde as Dean of the Marketing Department.
Year 1996: Research Center for Agriculture and Rural Area Development of China was established with Liu Chunbin as Director.
Year 1997 – Year 2006: He Zilin was appointed as Dean.
Year 1998: The Department was recognized by Ministry of Education as National Economics Talents Education Center with He Zili as Director.
Year 2000: Virtual Economy and Management Research Center was established with Junmin Liu as Director.
Year 2002: Urban Economics Teaching and Research Section was established and merged with relevant institutions into Urban and Regional Economy Research Institute.
Year 2006 – Year 2012: Jing Weimin was appointed as Dean.
Year 2011: Jing Weimin was appointed as Party Secretary of School of Economics.
Year 2013: Duan Wenbin was appointed as Director.
Year 2003 – Year 2013: The education system of Nankai style for theoretical economics talents was established and the four major directions of Marxist Economics and Modern Capitalism Economy, Chinese Economy and Transitional Economy, Virtual Economy and Industrial Economy were formed.
The Department of Economics (1923–)is the basis on which the whole group of economic and management disciplines of Nankai University develop. Theoretical Economics and Applied Economics, two first-level disciplines, are both national key disciplines, covering five second-level disciplines, including Political Economics, Western Economics, History of Economy, History of Economic Thoughts, and Industrial Economics. The faculty now consists of 38 teachers, including 16 professors (15 of which are doctoral supervisors), 17 associate professors, and 5 lecturers.
The Department of Economics has always made it its priority to cultivate talents and has practiced the education of “selflessness” and “capability” for 90 years. As National Economics Talents Education Center, the Department has formed its own education system that is characterized by the “combination of history and theories” and “social research”.
The Department of Economics has adhered to Nankai’s educational objective of “knowing China and serving China”, observed the tradition of allowing teaching and research to supplement one another, confronted “China’s problems” for 90 years and committed itself to developing China-oriented economics theory. Relying on the 4 platforms of Transitional Economy and Policy Research Center, Modern Capitalism Economy Research Center, Virtual Economy and Management Research Center and Research Center for Agriculture and Rural Area Development of China, the Department has formed 4 major directions, including contemporary Chinese economy, contemporary world economy, virtual economy and industrial economy, continuously making Nankai’s  voice to be heard in both domestic and international academic communities.